Edward Green's New 890 Last

Thruth

Big Winter Daddy
Edward Green has released its first new last in 12 years: the 890. It is a chisel toe last. Would seem that it is a tweaking of the 89 last, which was used quite a bit with EG-made RLPL shoes.

Sounds like the chisel has been more chiseled as well as an adjustment to the side profile. Here it is along with other chisel toe lasts for comparison.

I have no experience with EG chiselled lasts although I do have the 606 which is squarish. The only true chiselled toe shoe I have is a Cleverley derby. I guess i prefer rounder toes.

Thoughts on this last or chiselled toes in general?

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

888 vs 808
image.jpg

It looks quite nice.

I've got a couple of pairs of EG's on the classic, quite rounded 202 last and one pair of the "soft square" 606 last, which is essentially a 202 last with a more chiselled toe.

I used to like quite chiselled toes, such as C&J's 348 last, but I am also coming to prefer a softer toe. Of course, different toes suit different styles of shoe - I think that a shell cordovan longwing blucher, for example, really looks good with a softer, more rounded toe whereas a plain cap-toe balmoral can look very good with a sharper, more chiselled toe.

Is this a big Fuck You to Cleverly?

I don't know about that. Cleverley certainly is known for their chiselled toe but they have other profiles.

Lots of makers do a chiselled toe. EG is not competition for Cleverley, well maybe with their Anthony Cleverley RTW line.

It's EG tweaking their lineup for their fans & customers. No one is losing any sleep over in Old Bond Street

Maybe I'm too American. I don't see the appeal of corners on toes, even rounded ones. Is there some historical origin story for the chisel toe?

Edward Green has released its first new last in 12 years:
the 890. It is a chisel toe last. Would seem that it is a tweaking of the 89 last, which was used quite a bit with EG-made RLPL shoes.