Scarves, how do they work?

Russell Street

King Of The Trolls
Supporter
I used to always just cross one end over the other, as that was SOP for the school uniform as a child. Recently, I've taken to basically doing a day cravat knot, an overhand with one end hanging straight down the center in front. It's warmer and also looks really snazzy with my plaid scarf.

Some women is insisting on knitting me a scarf. I have no experience with knit scarves. Are they only for sniffly toddlers, or is this sort of thing tolerable for a grown man that is taken seriously? Also, why are scarves so ridiculously long nowadays and add whatever pointers, opinions, comments one may have on the topic of scarves.

My favorite is to fold the scarf in half and make a hole at the folded end, then slip the other end thru the hole and tighten it around the neck.

My favorite is to fold the scarf in half and make a hole at the folded end, then slip the other end thru the hole and tighten it around the neck.
The lark's head knot is probably the reason all scarves are now twice as long as they should be. Stop doing this.
I'm not even kidding. I just took a tape measure and draped it so that I'd have each end at the bottom of my breastbone. Three feet. Every scarf for sale is at least six feet long!

My fear is some loose knit knubby hunk of acrylic. A tightly knit, thin, scarf made of some decent animal fiber would be great.
What is it with matronly compulsive knitting?

I say like Michael Alden does it.
th

Scarves block the view of the tie (they don't like it when they can't see), so I generally don't wear them. And it gets cold and windy here.
Ties like the cold and wind better?